Flying Officer Kenneth Eastwood

I had this note on Kenneth Eastwood while I was searching for more information on No. 23 Squadron.

I had no idea at that time that this name would come up someday.

Flying Officer KENNETH EASTWOOD (1935-1939)
Royal Air Force

Born 20 June 1923, Kenneth entered the School as a Scholar in 1935 and after Junior School, when he joined Sloman’s House, he was twice commended as ‘best boxer’ in his class. He left School in July 1939 to join the Clan Shipping Line before volunteering for the R.A.F. in March 1941. As pilot of Mosquito PZ 177 of No.23 Squadron, Bomber Command, he took off from Little Snoring for night patrol over the Gutersloh area, east of Munster and was reported lost, presumed killed, over target on 18 September 1944.

Strange that George Stewart mentionned that name about this picture in one of his e-mail …

In the dark battledress to my right, is F/O Ken Eastwood’s navigator F/L G.T. (Griff) Rogers.

I wonder what became of F/O Ken Eastwood’s navigator F/L G.T. (Griff) Rogers.

6 thoughts on “Flying Officer Kenneth Eastwood

  1. I am in touch with F/O Kenneth Eastwood’s sister and am wondering if I can use the photo of Griff Rogers please

  2. Sometimes I get these spam comments.
    Always fun to get those…

    Thank you for some other informative web site.
    The place else could I get that kind of info
    written in such an ideal approach? I have a challenge that I
    am simply now operating on, and I have been at the glance out for such
    info.

Leave a Reply

