Flight Lieutenant R. C. Harris

I thought my search for Eugène Gagnon was over in April 2010.

Click here to read my article.

Mike Thomas wrote me this weekend and had all of Eugène’s missions.

I only had this official document made in 1945. Eugène wanted to become a transport pilot with the RCAF after the war.


Mike also found this information about Flight Lieutenant R. C. Harris, Eugène’s navigator.

Flying Officer Gagnon was promoted to Flight Lieutenant in February 1945. His co-pilot, Flying Officer R. C. Harris, was promoted to Flight Lieutenant in April 1945. The 2 officers remained pilot and co-pilot on all missions carried out whilst on 23 Squadron.


courtesy George Stewart

In my search for Eugène Gagnon, I always wondered about his navigator especially when Mr. Marcel Bergeron, whose youth hero was Eugène, told me last year in a conversation about Eugène Gagnon that his navigator was from Montreal and was killed.

Mr. Bergeron was not sure about that info or if his memory was playing tricks on him.

Now we know for sure.

Flight Lieutenant R. C. Harris survived the war and was Eugène Gagnon’s navigator for all his 33 missions over Germany.

courtesy Tom Cushing via Peter Smith

As I am looking at this picture, I see he was in the R.A.F and not the R.C.A.F.

Flight Lieutenant R. C. Harris was most probably an Englishman and just like Eugène Gagnon a forgotten war hero.

If you know anything about Flight Lieutenant R. C. Harris, please write me a comment below and I will contact you just like I did with Mike Thomas.

I can wait.

I am a very patient person.

Leave a Reply

