Almost Three Years Now…

First post on this blog about 23 Squadron written on April 5, 2010.

Read it carefully.

I could have waited until April 5, 2013 before posting it again, but my unexpected virtual meeting with R. C. Harris’ son changed my planned mission. His son is willing to share what he has on his father so we will pay homage to both Eugène Gagnon and Richard C. Harris.

Eugène died in a plane crash in 1947. Robert told me his father died in 1969. I don’t believe they contacted each other after the war. But maybe they did.

I hope R.C. Harris’ son will find out in what he kept of his father’s souvenirs during the war.

Presentation

You will not find much information on the Internet about this RAF squadron that operated in Little Snoring.

This blog is dedicated to the men of No. 23 Squadron of the RAF that were stationed in Little Snoring, in England, from 1944 to 1945.

One of these men is Eugène Gagnon who flew 33 night missions over Germany.

Eugène Gagnon was a French-Canadian born in Bromptonville, a small town north of Sherbrooke, in Quebec, Canada.

He is even less well known than No. 23 Squadron, but trust me on this, he will become as famous as Pat Rooney who drew his caricature at Little Snoring.

Eugène Gagnon DFC

“Only the best pilots flew the Mosquito.”

This blog will pay homage to him, to Tommy Smith another Mosquito pilot shot down over Germany and everyone I can find who flew or served in this squadron.

You can share with me and my readers what you know about No. 23 Squadron.

Just add a comment and I will get in touch.

Lest we forget

One thought on “Almost Three Years Now…

Leave a Reply

