Scrabble Anyone

Back in 2010 when I started writing this blog, I did not know the name of Eugene Gagnon’s navigator.

I was just starting to find out information about an unknown French-Canadian Mosquito pilot from Bromptonville, a little town in Québec I had never heard before even if I had been living in Québec since birth.

Robert Harris, his navigator’s son, found my blog last year and told me he had a lot of information about his father and his father’s pilot. Robert will be scanning his father’s precious pictures and documents and share them with my readers.

This picture I posted yesterday is interesting because it shows how airmen would past time between scrambles or before a mission.

scan0001

Richard Craig Harris was a navigator in the RAF. I am sure he did two tours of operations. I don’t know with which squadron he was when that picture was taken, but I am sure it’s not at Little Snoring where 23 Squadron was stationed. 

I believe R.C. Harris is in the middle of the picture concentrating on a word. Well I am pretty sure that R.C. Harris.

With his father’s precious logbook and his precious friend in Québec, Canada, Robert will team up with him to pay homage to his father just like Gene and Dick were flying in a Mosquito.

If the above picture is interesting, this one is somewhat confusing.

scan0002

What is R.C. Harris, a navigator, doing sitting right in front of the cockpit of a single-seat Hurricane? Was he visiting someone or was this squadron part of a squadron flying Hurricanes and also twin-engine planes?

The Hurricane IIA Series 2s armed with four 20 mm (.79 in) Hispanos become the Mark IIC in June 1941, using a slightly modified wing. The new wings also included a hardpoint for a 500 lb (227 kg) or 250 lb (113 kg) bomb, and later in 1941, fixed 40 gal (182 l) fuel tanks. By then performance was inferior to the latest German fighters, and the Hurricane changed to the ground-attack role, sometimes referred to as the Hurribomber. The mark also served as a night fighter and “intruder.” (Wikipedia)

R.C. Harris’ logbook will provide us with more information about this picture and hopefully some clues on who are the other airmen.

To be continued…

While you are waiting, watch this.

4 thoughts on “Scrabble Anyone

Leave a Reply

