Who Remembers Ensign Grinndal U.S. Navy?

Is it so important?

Probably not many people remember Ensign Grinndal who was killed on November 22, 1944 when the Mosquito he was flying on lost one engine and crashed.

51 OTU Ensign Grinndal

Maybe R.C. Harris never knew what had happened to him. But then maybe he did but he never wrote about it to anyone.

This is why I wrote about it on this blog dedicated to 23 Squadron and not to No. 51 O.T.U. or RAF 456 Squadron. 

Maybe this person who posted this on the Find A Grave Website knows more about Ensign Grinndal, but then maybe not…

His name is Geoffrey Gillon. This is how he presents himself on the Website. Take a few moments to read it because I could have written something along those lines about this blog dedicated to 23 Squadron.

Bio and Links
“They are only dead when they’re forgotten”

Tombstone tourist (otherwise known as a “taphophile”, “cemetery enthusiast” or “grave hunter” or “graver”) describes an individual who travels to visit cemeteries for the enjoyment of looking at old and unusual stones or to find the graves of famous people.

The term has been most notably used by author and biographer Scott Stanton as the title of his 2003 book and his former website on the lives and gravesites of famous musicians. Tombstone tourists are usually more interested in the historical aspects of cemeteries or the historical relevance of its denizens.Taphophilia is a passion for and enjoyment of cemeteries. The singular term is a Taphophile. Taphophilia involves epitaphs, photography, brass rubbing, art, and history of (famous) deaths.

I have a number of virtual cemeteries-a very useful feature of the Find A Grave site. I maintain one which I have entitled ‘Famous Rejects’-these are notable people, mainly from British history who, I feel, deserve a place in the ‘famous’ category, and I have been pleased to read that a great number of Find A Grave contributors and visitors concur.

I was raised to believe that I own nothing and that all I have is to be shared. See also 1 Timothy 6:7.I am inclined to be a “Kopimist” or “Kopimist intellectual” – a person who has the philosophical belief that all information should be freely distributed and unrestricted. This philosophy opposes the monopolization of knowledge in all its forms, such as copyright.

I do not copyright any of my work on findagrave and it is free for anyone to use elsewhere for whatever reason. I came across some rare but refreshing comments on the profile pages of other contributors recently, one of which  said something along the lines of ” I figure that if you have sufficient interest to ask for a transfer, I am happy to oblige” Another, in connection with the refusal to transfer memorials, said “It has led to fiefdoms of little people exercising “power” who are obdurate in their intransigence. Also there seem to be many contributors who amass great quantities of records beyond their ability to maintain them “I am sure that all those who spout on about why they won’t transfer don’t realize that their precious number count doesn’t change if they do. Another personal profile that attracted me was found December 2012.
Any and all information or pictures, I have uploaded, are meant for sharing. Family memories were meant to be passed on. I just don’t understand anyone that thinks different. I think if you don’t want to share, than don’t put them on a public site. My goal is not to see how many memorials I can create, but to help you find your love ones.-and another unselfish one……….

Since I could never care as much about your family and friends as you do, please feel free to request memorial transfers.

Contributions to Find A Grave

8,116 Memorials Added

9,136 Memorials Managed

• 27 Memorials/week

• 21,931 Photos

81 Photo Requests

255 Volunteer Photos Taken

• 210 Virtual Flowers

24 Virtual Cemeteries

10 Famous Bios

• 104 Fame Ratings

52 Sponsorships

2 Friends

I was raised to believe that I own nothing and that all I have is to be shared…

Footnote

Message I sent to Geoffrey Gillon

Hi,
 
This post on my blog 23 Squadron will be of interest.
 
 
I will have a follow- up post tomorrow.
 
Do you know more about Ensign Grinndal?
 
Pierre

Leave a Reply

