Donald Hepworth Bentley

From this comment sent from Paul, a cousin of Donald…

I have just located this site on my iPad. My relative, Donald Hepworth Bentley, was a Flight  Sergeant with 23 squadron based at Luca in Malta. His navigator was a Sgt Causeway. They were both killed September 1943 and are buried together in the cemetery in San Marino. The grave has the propeller from the Mosquito mounted on it.

I have photos if any one interested.
They were 23 years old and had trained in Canada.

To this  picture he shared with me so I could share it with my readers…

Donald

Flight Sergeant Bentley

This will be the first post about that Mosquito pilot.

photo1

The first of many posts about a pilot who flew this type of plane…

Malta Mosquito

And who is buried in San Marino Town Cemetery in Italy with his navigator.

photo 2

photo 3

photo 4

Maybe there is a logbook somewhere.

If you have any information, please feel free to contact me.

8 thoughts on “Donald Hepworth Bentley

  1. Great to read this. Thank you to Luca Piancastelli who has just emailed my Mother with the link to this and an epilogue of the updated cause of the crash….
    Sargent Donald Hepworth Bentley was my late Grandad Gordon Windsor Hey, cousin. He was 6 years old at the time and had fond memories of his cousin Donald before he left to go to war.

Leave a Reply

