How It Really Started… – Redux

Post 294

This is what I wrote back in April 2010.

Before I will let you read the 6th article I posted on April 10, 2010, I want to show you this comment made by Judy just a few days ago.

Mr. or Ms. Casey D. 

Your effort to return the journal’s to the Gagnon family is commendable, and once done, I’m sure will be appreciated beyond words.  I have compiled extensive information from personal research executed since 1998.  In an effort to gain insight into further expanding my research efforts, I would appreciate communicating with you.  I have included my name and email address in this message.  Please allow me to thank you in advance for any assistance you may be able to offer. 

Kind regards … 

At first I was not sure about the authenticity of Judy’s comment. In the world of bloggers we are used to receive many spam messages. This one was much too long not to be investigated on further.

I have learned that comments made on this blog about a Mosquito squadron I knew nothing about before 2010 are there for a reason.

I don’t write to make money though I don’t mind people who write to make a living. I just write so people can find this blog just like Paul Beaudet’s daughter did in 2010.

Paul Beaudet DFC

Paul Beaudet

 In fact it was her daughter who found the blog.

Hi there

Paul Beaudet was my Grandfather.

He did not often talk about his time in the War. Perhaps he did with my Mother and her brothers and sisters.  

Now and then he would recollect to me the Train bombings and what it was like to fly the night missions – what he would see, the cold in the plane, the waiting on something to happen and then the action when it did and how when it was all done they would fly back to the base and hang out.

We have taken his medals and awards and had them framed – a proud reflection of his service.

Paul’s daughter then shared many pictures of her father when he was stationed in Sardinia and then in Little Snoring.

But why did I start writing a blog about a Mosquito squadron I knew nothing about in 2010.

Mosquito 3

George Stewart’s collection

Now you can read what I wrote back in 2010 with some added information and pictures people shared since then…

Marcel Bergeron is 82 and he is not a veteran Mosquito pilot nor is he a war hero.

Marcel went to see someone, a veteran air gunner of No. 425 Alouette squadron. He had learned in the newspaper about that veteran and just knock on his door. He asked for his help in finding more information about Eugène Gagnon. You see Eugène Gagnon was his hero when he was a teenager back in the late 30s. In a sense, Marcel is also a hero because he wanted to keep Eugène’s memory alive.

This is how Marcel and I got to know each other.

Marcel told me this anecdote when we met.

Eugène died in a plane crash in 1947.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Eugène’s sister had moved to the United States. She came back to Canada where she had lived before. When Eugene died, she supposedly threw away in the garbage all Eugène’s medals and also his precious logbook.

She did not know how valuable they were.

Marcel had kept a few mementoes of his hero. He has his RAF wings and a button with a small compass hidden inside in case he had to parachute over enemy territory. He also has a piece of the jacket Eugène wore when he died on October 21, 1947.

Those mementoes are the most precious things he has of his hero.


Eugène Gagnon DFC

(Courtesy Mario Hains)

Marcel had also his discharge papers.


But Marcel wanted to know more about Eugène’s service in the RAF… and that’s the reason he asked the veteran who, in turn, asked me to help him.

To learn more about this search you will have to read my other blog titled Lest We Forget.

Click here.

This is the article I wrote last year about my search for Eugène Gagnon.


Leave a Reply

