July 1945

Little Snoring - June or July 1945

This is the last group picture taken of 23 Squadron. I have been using it since 2010 to remember these heroes.

Some are still unknown.

Little by little people who are related find this blog created in 2010 and leave a message…

Hi, My grandfather recently passed away and I am in the process of scanning and copying all of his things. I have come across lots of old photos of him in 23 Squadron and I also have his Flying log book. Would you be interested in copies of these for your blogs if you are still doing them? My grandfather is John William Thompson (Jack) he is the photo above middle row 6th person in. We will be saying our final farewell to him on Tuesday 13th September and would love to know if you have any more information on him.

Regards

Debbie

I always write back like I did with Theo’s son-in-law…

Theo in training mod

4 thoughts on “July 1945

  1. Hello Pierre,

    We’ve been in contact a few times before, and you said I can include pictures or info appearing on here in the RAF 100 Group Association magazine, although I wouldn’t do this without asking you first.

    I’m just wondering if you could please let Debbie know about our Association …. who would welcome her into the fold as one of our ‘kindred spirits’ given her grandfather was John William Thompson (Jack) who served at 23 Squadron. I know many members who were at RAF Little Snoring at the same time would love to hear from his family, and to remember him in having recently passed on.

    In letting our Association members know her grandfather has died, it would be good to be able to say a little more about him if you have the information, to jog the memories of veterans. And if his granddaughter would like to get in touch with me, please feel free to give her the email address:

    raf100groupassociation@gmail.com

    Best wishes,
    Janine
    Secretary of worldwide RAF 100 Group Association
    Editor: ‘Confound & Destroy’, Association magazine

Leave a Reply

